Love and Depression

Everyone has been depressed at some point in their lives it just usually doesn’t last as long as it does for some of us. I think depression can certainly be a result of the loss of something love, a job, etc ,but I don’t think that loss is the only cause. I can feel down about nothing, and I am sure that other people are the same way.

I agree that depression can destroy relationships with others and definitely makes it hard to be alone with you. Does love protect the mind from itself? Well, I can love people and still be depressed as far as friends and family go. I don’t stop loving other people. However, I rarely love myself and that has a lot to do with my depression. I tend to be less affectionate with my family when I’m really depressed. I don’t want people to touch me.

I get wrapped up in the meaninglessness of life and everything else from time to time and that also adds to my depression. Many times I do feel insignificant, and I feel like everything else is insignificant too. I try to focus on the fact that God has a plan for me…I’m here for a reason…and who am I to question it? I pray that God’s will for me will be done, but sometimes the human nature in me just wonders – Why the heck do I have to go through this life? Why does anyone?

Sometimes I just feel like I need to save people from having to be around me.

For me, loving myself is really difficult. I go further down the spiral when I can’t do things around the house, enjoy things like painting or drawing, etc. I am hard on myself about a lot of things – past & present. Sometimes my depression focuses on the past, other times it’s the present, sometimes I don’t feel like I’m doing “what I should be doing”. Sometimes it’s focused on every little thing I hate about myself; sometimes it’s a depression that seems to have no cause or focus whatsoever.

Everyone in the world can love you You can be in love, love your family and your friends…but when you’re sick, that doesn’t mean the depression will be or can be cured by love. For me, sometimes it has a lot to do with how I see myself, but that doesn’t mean it’s that way for everyone.

However, whether or not love helps depression in some way shouldn’t even be a question. Sometimes the love of another or giving love to another can be the only light in the darkness. I am lucky to have people that love me in spite of my weirdness and I have a loving husband and children that I love a lot…thinking of them has definitely kept me in the game of life more than once.

I guess that’s my 2 cents…if it means anything.

 

Don't forget to bookmark this page and thank you for visiting!! Leave a Reply

